Title: This Dark Endeavor

Author: Kenneth Oppel

Stars – šŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸ

Review: This Dark Endeavor is, in essence, a prequel to Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. This story begins with a 16 year old Victor Frankenstein, before he became interested in the dark sciences. The story takes the reader on the harrowing journeys that Victor and his friends undertake in an attempt to create the elusive Elixir of Life to save Victor’s deathly ill twin brother, Konrad. It also gives readers a front seat view of the intense discoveries and terrible events that start Victor down the path to becoming a “Mad Scientist”.

I am giving This Dark Endeavor five out of five stars. I do not give this high of a rating very often and am very cautious when I do. The reason I am giving this book such a high rating is because I cannot find a single flaw to point out. The story and the dialog are very easy to follow, the descriptions are perfectly detailed so that everything is well described, but not OVER described. The characters are well developed and believable and have a fair depth to them.

I highly recommend this book! It is a must read for any fan of Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein. I would recommend this book to anyone 6th grade through adult! This book can be found at my local library, Summers County Public Library for anyone local that would like to read it. Be sure to see if your local library has a copy. šŸ™‚

For more information about the book, go here.

