Title: Chosen at Nightfall: a Shadow Falls novel (book 5, final book)

Author: C.C. Hunter

Stars – 🌟🌟🌟🌟1/2

Note: there are SPOILERS of previous books in this series contained in this review.

Review:  Kylie’s journey has come to and end. Everything she has learned about herself, about her family, about her friends is called to the forefront in this last installment of the Shadow Falls saga. After Lucas’s betrayal, Kylie went to live with her biological grandfather in a compound of other Chameleon’s. She soon discovers that, while she has learned a good deal while there, it may not have been the best thing. Her newest ghost is being a regular pain in the bum and then some unexpected guests show up at the compound. In this story, Kylie will face all the things she had hoped to be able to avoid and not just face it, but charge it full steam ahead!

I am giving this book 4 1/2 stars out of 5 . I have not fallen so in love with a fictional world for quite awhile and am truly saddened that there is no more books in this series. Talk about a book hangover, this series has just about done me in. From the first page of the first book I was sucked in and Shadow Falls is still holding on even though I’ve closed the last page of the last book. There has been adventure, suspence, romance, and of course Vampires and Werewolves! I cannot sing C.C. Hunter’s praises enough!

The only reason I didn’t give a 5 star rating on this book is that, at what I felt was supposed to be the most climatic moment of the story, it felt too rushed. Too rushed and not as intense as I had hoped.

As always, I am recommending this book for 9th/10th grades and up. If you like books involving the paranormal, do yourself a favor and read this series! Don’t forget to check your local library to see if they have them in stock; trust me, once you start these books, you will want quick and easy access to the rest of the series!

For more information about Shadow Falls and the accompanying novellas, go here.

