Title: Configured (Book 1 of a trilogy)

Author: Jenetta Penner

Stars – ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Note: I received an ARC (Advance Reader Copy) of this book, directly from the author at no cost to me. The book officially drops October 20th, 2016. Be sure to take a look at the Book Trailer when it stops by this blog October 18th!

Review: In a world where feeling or expressing love makes you a traitor and everyone’s life is in perfect order, one girl finds the courage to challenge everything she has ever known. Avlyn Lark has reached the age of 17 and that means only one thing, Configuration Day. The day Avlyn officially becomes an adult, at least by Direction’s standards. Everything in Avlyn’s life has always been on a predetermined path. Attend school, get assigned a job, move into her own apartment, choose a pre-analyzed spouse pairing, have children. Everything is going as planned, that is, until everything changes.

  I am giving this book 4 out of 5 stars! I sincerely enjoyed reading this book and can not wait for the next one! I am a huge lover of dystopian society stories, I read every one I can get my hands on. I’ve read fantastic ones, horrible ones, and pretty much everything in between. With that being said, I tend to go into a new dystopian novel hoping for the best, but equally prepared for the worst. Such was  the case when I started Configured. However, it did not take long to determine that this was going to be one of the good ones! I found many relatable aspects in this book including, but certainly not limited to, Avlyn’s struggle to blend in, even though she is (at least to us readers) obviously meant to stand out.

I also love that the romance is somewhat understated in this book. So many times an author over does the romance to the point, at least in my opinion, overshadows all other aspects of the story. The tension and attraction between Avlyn and Myere is at a perfect level and balance, in this reviewer’s opinion. To me, Configured is somewhat reminiscent of Lois Lowery’ The Giver and Veronica Roth’s Divergent. Two of my favorites. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I am recommending this book to dystopian lovers of all ages! If you have never read a dystopian novel before, Configured is a great place to start!

