Title: Influence (book 1)

Author: David R Bernstein

Stars – 🌟🌟🌟🌟

*Note: I received this book as an ARC (Advance Reader Copy) directly from the author at no cost to me*

Synopsis: Kaylin has been on the run most of her life. She is an Influencer, someone who can manipulate reality. In this post apocalyptic, dystopian world, Influencer’s are highly sought after to the point of being hunted down. Sector groups use Influencer’s to manipulate the population, control people, and expand their ever growing reach; generally against the will of the Influencer. 

Kaylin hides her ability with the help of Amanda, the only person Kaylin has ever been able to call family. After being left at a children’s shelter as a small child, Kaylin had no one. Then she met Amanda, they became fast friends, sisters for all intents and purposes. Now Kaylin and Amanda meet a strange boy who is going to change their entire world.

Review: First let me say that I have an innate fondness for dystopian stories. This does not mean that I have loved every one I have ever read, on the contrary, I have read some stinkers! I am very pleased to say that this is one of the good ones! There is action from page one, this story is a constant rollercoaster of action, adventure, frightening moments, happy moments, sad moments, and everything in between!

I love Kaylin’s character development as the story moves along. She starts out terrified of her abilities, herself, and everything around her. By the end of the book, while still fighting with her fears, she learns to use her abilities to the best advantage and becomes a stronger, more confident woman. 

The settings are immaculate in their description. The characters are well written, believable, and relatable in their own ways. That ending? It blew me away! In short, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am very anxious for the next one!

Recommendations: I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys dystopias! I am recommending this for readers 8th grade up!

Links: for more information about about Influence or author David R Bernstein, check out these links.

Facebook – David R Bernstein

Goodreads – Influence (Influence book #1)

Website – David R Bernstein ~ Author

AmazonBuy Influence book 1

